FAQ and Errata

Here’s a collection of some frequently asked questions and their answers, to guide you when playing Spark.


Why does Angela roll in the Advancing Phase example text on Pg. 79?

This is an error in the print version of the first edition of the book. The GM never rolls during the Advancing Phase, only the players. As a result of this, there will always be at least one Agenda accomplished each session.


What happens if I am playing a character who lies? When I make declarations in character, do they become true?

This is a tricky bit of nuance to the collaboration phase. If the character is lying, this counts as a Statement which cannot lead to a conflict. If this is establishing a new fact about the world, then it’s a Declaration. When in doubt, I would recommend that a player portraying a deceptive character state this out of character so it’s clear to the other participants.


Can the GM take harm or be taken out of a scene?

Yes, can take Harm. Theoretically could take enough harm to be taken out of the scene which would mean no more declarations or statements.


Can I have a faction agenda that harms or limits another faction as long as no other agenda exists that is mutually exclusive?

Absolutely. Killing Faces is poor form, but destroying buildings or seizing resources is perfect as an agenda.


Can a player narrate to take somebody out of the scene and if it goes unopposed, it just happens? What if he wins the following conflict?

If no one opposes a declaration to take a PC out of a scene, it happens. In such a case they can’t enter into conflicts, or make declarations with that character for the rest of the scene.  The PC would not suffer Harm in the process though, and would be at full capacity in the following scene.


Once we create Factions are we limited to these Factions? Does it mean there can be no other big ”organizations” involved in the story?

If we play a game with zombies or monsters or predatory aliens, should they be in a Faction?

You are mechanically limited to this factions, but not fictionally. If some organization is one of the Factions for your game, then you know that they will _always_ be involved in some way during the Advancing phase at the start of each episode.
Zombies, monsters or predatory aliens don’t have to be a faction. That said, they often work well in that role as being a Faction means that they can potentially accomplish world-shaping Agendas each episode.

On the first game, do we start with ”Advancing” or ”Framing”?

Each episode of actual gameplay needs to start with either the Prelude _or_ the Advancing phase. If you do character creation, the Preludes and a couple scenes, then the next episode will begin with the Advancing phase.
If you start off the first episode of play with the Prelude, then you skip the Advancing phase that time.
I was really unclear on this one in the book and got this question a few times.

When choosing ”Block”, ”claim” or ”tie”, is it just the top 3 players that each choose 1 of the 3 options each? Or do ALL Players choose ANY option they want (ex.: 3 players block and 1 claims)

Each player can (and must) choose one of the three options on their turn. The roll simply determines the order in which they choose.

When a player is making a ”bold declaration” does it have to include is character or can he simply start making declarations about other characters or environment?

Normally players can make declarations about their PC’s or about Minor NPCs. If they didn’t get to frame the scene, they can also make declarations about Major NPCs. They can declare something about the setting (“the cult of the fleshrippers hide in these hills”) via a Mind-based declaration if they would like.

Normally, the ability to establishing something as true in the environment or to directly control it is the purvue of the GM (Pg. 109). The GM may be flexible and allow players to participate in this, but make sure that there’s always some way that the player could participate in a Conflict if that declaration was disputed.


Does that mean that the GM doesn’t always get to control the Major NPCs?

That is correct! The GM always gets to use Faces, Minor NPCs and the environment however.


If a ”Face” dies, is it replaced by another face?

Yes, according to the same rules for creating a Face (Pg. 42). That said, the Faces fall under the same rules for character death as PCs. This means that the GM would have to actually choose for the Face to die, rather than simply be taken out.


Why does the pg. 116 of the Advice chapter state “Platform” for two subsequent headers?

Because of a dumb copy-paste error. The second header should read “Tilt” instead.



If you have any more questions, please feel free to submit them to @genesisoflegend on twitter, or via the contact form so I can post the answers publically up here.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *